Archontiko Rousias
Archontiko Rousias Home
 
 
 

Attractions and Entertainment

Attractions

The Church of Saint Luke
The Stable of Saint Luke
The Old School
The Olive Press of Saint Luke
The Church of Saint George
The Church of the Mother Mary - Chrysopantanassas
The Church of Metamorphosis of Soteros (Saint Soteros)
The Valley of Maroulena. The church of Saint Anagyron
The Central Square
The Museum of Byzantine Inheritance
The Residence of Polykarpos Giorgatzes
The Hideout of Gregoris Afxentiou
The Statue of the Cypriot Mother
Future Activities

Entertainment

Dining Out
Cafenea and Cafe's
Bars and Clubs
Other Cities, Towns and Villages


Attractions

The Church of Saint Luke

The Church of Saint Luke was built on the site of an earlier wooden-roofed church a little after 1918. According to the oral testimony of the older residence, the old church was demolished in 1924. The bell-tower of the old church was retained, to be re-incorporated into the new. In 1936, Rupert Gunnis states that the old church had already been demolished but its bell-tower had been kept. In fact, it continues in use at the present time.

The Stable of Saint Luke

Under the south-easterly surrounding of the church there is the so called stable of Saint Luke, which has been built in by the retaining wall which has been built to the South and the East of the church.  The only entry that exists is a doorway high up south on the retaining wall.  On the stonework of the eastern wall there is a plaque which is dated 27th July 1818.

On the northern side of the church at a restored residence of traditional architecture, there operates a traditional café the “Café of Eftehias”, where the visitor can enjoy traditional food and other village tastes.  Walking up hill the visitor can visit another small traditional restaurant, in the area of “Agiasma” – meaning blesses waters, which may not win over the visitor by its architecture since it’s a newly built building, however the visitor can enjoy traditional dishes and the superb scenery with the village at your feet.

The Old School

The old school is south of the church of Saint Luke.  The single room rectangular parallel lined building with A-frame roof also has gutter type roof tiles.  During the 19th Century the building was used as a school.  Today it’s used as a public library, part of which is made up of the personal library donated by reporter Christakis Katsambas.

The Olive Press of Saint Luke

The olive press house is the continuation of the old school building in the church grounds.  It also is a single room rectangular parallel line building south of the school.  It is found in comparatively good condition, having been restored in 1993, and the largest part of its equipment is found in tac

The Church of Saint George

A small wooden roofed building of the 16th / 17th Century.  Apart from the wall paintings the visitor can admire the village from a different point of view.  Walking on the paved footpath the visitor is lead to the central square.

The Church of the Mother Mary – Chrysopantanassas

The church is found in the centre of the village which dates back to the beginning of the 16th Century.  The visitor can see unique wall paintings from the second half of the 16th century.  It is important to mention that the building of the church has been restored to its original aspect and in conjunction with the maintenance of the wall paintings they compose a characteristic sample of our cultural inheritance.  The church is dedicated to the Accession of our lady.  Our lady is honoured on the 21st November on which day there are festivities celebrated outside the church.

Next to the church there is the church hall, even though it is of modern built, it still maintains the traditional character since it is built of traditional material (stone).  The hall can be used as a conference room, gallery, gatherings etc.  In the courtyard of the church you will find the communities monument site where there are plaques mounted with the names of our fellow-villagers who fought and fell during the freedom struggle of E.O.K.A (Greek organisation of Cypriot Fighters)

The Church of Metamorphosis of Soteros (Saint Soteros)

The Church of Metamorphosis of Soteros or Saint Soteros, as it is predominantly called today, is found on the summit of the slopes that dominate the village and constitutes a jewel of cultural inheritance and history, since it belongs in the catalogue of the International Cultural Inheritance of UNESCO.  On the 6th August annually when the churches name day is honoured, festive celebrations take part in the church grounds.  From Saint Sotera the visitor can be directed to a unique memorial which is found at a summit that dominates the village.

The Valley of Maroulena.  The Church of Saint Anagyron

The church is built in the area of “Maroulena” outside the village (1.5 km) where in the past homonymous housing thrived.  Even though the church does not have the glamour of the other comparative churches of the village, the visitor will find here remarkable elements of architectural wall paintings and icons.  The church functions on the day when the memory of the Saints is glorified, on the Tuesday after Easter Sunday.

There are also plans for the transformation of the area around the church with the intention of the creation of an excursion-picnic area.  This area poses a unique interest within the bounds of activity plans, since the valley of Maroulena offers unique pictures of natural beauty.

Then the traveller can walk the dirt road that connects the church with the village of Apliki (3 km) and admire the very inclining slopes, where the altitude reaches 1100 metres.  The journey may even constitute the most unique choice for the development of the Summer mountain biking and also mountain climbing.  Arriving at Apliki, the hiker or the cyclist can relax since there is basic infrastructure for this purpose or can continue his journey.

About a kilometre east of Apliki there is the Palaichori dam, which is constructed on the river of Kampiou.  For the fishing friends the dam constitutes a good opportunity to get involved with their sport.  At the dam there are the possibilities for the infrastructure to be developed that will enable the expansion of the other athletic activities such as rides in canoes and other.

As mentioned above, Palaichori offers many choices and activities to the visitor.  So than a second remarkable journey that the visitor can follow is that to the Valley of Halkomata.  The small cultivated land areas that exist, give to the visitor a taste of the type of employment the locals are involved in.  As in the case of the Valley of Maroulena, here also are the possibilities for the development of similar activities but of rural nature though.  In this area operates the regional primary school of the region.

Also the visitor can relax at the traditional café nearby, which even though it is of modern built, it follows to a large extent the rhythm of the traditional architecture.

Within the bounds of the integral scheme in the area will be the development of the rural land of the Mansion where the visitor will be able to occupy himself with farming.  Within this framework similar items of rural land can be developed in other rural areas around the village such as Millouri, Stillari and others.

The journey to the Valley of Halkomata, leads us to the foothills of Papoutsa where the visitor can follow two different journeys, one towards the village of Sykopetra, where this road leads to Limassol.  The second journey leads us to the hideouts of E.O.K.A at Papoutsa, which have been restored.  This climb even though tiring, exceedingly re-emburses the visitor since the view is unique and simultaneously the visitor feels an awe since here, some of the most significant moments of the struggle of E.O.K.A. have taken place.  The journey offers to the visitor another alternative solution.  Initially following the dirt road which climbs up to the hideouts of E.O.K.A. the visitor can follow the path of natures study that exists and reach the summit.  These journey’s can indeed be realised with horses.

Another area which has its own portion in the history of the village is the area of Saint Koronis, 5 km from the village on the way to Nicosia.  In the past the area constituted one of the most significant areas for the production of strawberries in Cyprus.  In the area the visitor can visit the small church of Archangel Michael in the area of “Appi”, where there is a summit of pine tree plantation with an exceptional view.  There are many restaurants in the area.

The Central Square

The central square which during the old days constituted the parking place of the village, today is an attraction point for the visitors, since its rebuild a few years ago with pavers, has given character which ties in with existing infrastructure (small coffee shops, restaurants) which the visitor can enjoy any time of the day.  The walk around the square can lead the visitor to significant historical and cultural monuments such as.

The Museum of Byzantine Heritage

It is housed in a restored house of traditional architecture, especially divided for musical use and its found in the centre of the village.  In the museum are displayed the most remarkable works of religious and other historical pieces which have been maintained during the centuries.  Chronologically the exhibits cover many centuries, from the French occupation (1192 – 1489) up to the 20th Century

The Residence of Polykarpos Giorgatzes

Next to the church of Our Lady there is the family home of an E.O.K.A freedom fighter Polykarpos Giorgatzes who later became Minister in the first government of the Cyprus Democracy.  The building has been restored and contains displayed material about the life, the work, and activities of Polykarpos Giorgatzes.

The Hideout of Gregoris Afxentiou

Also in a side street next to the church the visitor can see the restored hideout of Gregoris Afxentiou.  This place today constitutes the memory museum of the freedom struggle.  Leaving behind the area of the central square, the visitor climbs towards the church of Saint Soteros, which is found opposite the church of Saint Luke

The Statue of the Cypriot Mother

The works or art was made in 1961 in honour of all the Cypriot mothers who sacrificed their children in the freedom struggle of 1955.  From the hill the visitor can admire the entire village.  Continuing his course the visitor ends up on the main road, at the entry of the village where there is also a cafeteria.  From this point the visitor can either return to the village or otherwise continue towards the valley of Maroulena, a place of rarely found natural beauty

Future Activities

The realisation of the above mentioned objectives if effected through a series of new activities and the fabrication of services with the intention of the satisfaction and service of the visitors, while comparatively there will be the protection of the natural scenery.

We must not forget that the creation of new services can increase the annual number of visitors in a certain area.  For this reason before we embark on any kind of infrastructure formation, it would be helpful to investigate if the current capabilities of the landscape allows for this “enlargement”.

Entertainment

Palaichori and its surroundings offer traditional choices in Cypriot cuisine. The many Kentra, restaurants, cafes and snack stops guarantee a traditional Cyprus experience.

Dining Out and Cafe's

The most traditional Cypriot food experience can be found at the many Kentra and restaurants in the area.

Other Cities, Towns and Villages

Within close proximity to Palaichori you can find villages such as Agros, Askas, Fterikoudi, Machairas and Apliki. Each of these offers a unique Cyprus experience and picturesque environment.

 


Palaichori viewed from its highest point

Palaichori viewed from its highest point
More photos

The Church of Saint Luke also showing the Stable

The Church of Saint Luke also showing the Stable
More photos

The Old Primary School of Saint Luke

The Old Primary School of Saint Luke
More photos

The Olive Press of Saint Luke

The Olive Press of Saint Luke
More photos

The Church of Saint Georgios

The Church of Saint Georgios
More photos

The Church of the Mother Mary - Chrysopantanassas

The Church of the Mother Mary - Chrysopantanassas
More photos

The Church of Saint Soteros

The Church of Saint Soteros
More photos

The Church of Saint Anargyroi

The Church of Saint Anargyroi
More photos

Palaichori 'Plateia' with Cafe's and restaurants

Palaichori 'Plateia' with Cafe's and restaurants
More photos

The Museum of Byzantine Heritage

The Museum of Byzantine Heritage
More photos

The Residence of Polykarpos Giorgatzes

The Residence of Polykarpos Giorgatzes
More photos

The memorial of EOKA fighters

The memorial of EOKA fighters
More photos

The Statue of the Cypriot Mother

The Statue of the Cypriot Mother
More photos

The Monastry of Machairas

The Monastry of Machairas
More photos

Palaichori Dam

Palaichori Dam
More photos